You are here

Annual Meeting of the Irish Mathematical Society (IMS)

Annual Meeting of the Irish Mathematical Society

Date: 27 - 28 Aug 2015

Venue: Western Gateway Building, UCC

Organizer: Stephen Wills (UCC)

Speakers Include:

  • Stanley Burris (University of Waterloo)
  • Barbara Fantechi (SISSA) 
  • Aoife Hennessy (Waterford IT)
  • David Henry (University College Cork)
  • Marius Junge (University of Illinois)
  • Rupert Levene (University College Dublin)
  • Adele Marshall (Queen's University Belfast)
  • Muriel Medard (MIT)
  • Anca Mustata (University College Cork)
  • Alice Niemeyer (Maynooth University)
  • Franz Pedit (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
  • Chris Rogers (University of Cambridge)
  • Rajarshi Roy (University of Maryland)
  • Ivan Todorov (Queen's University Belfast)

The meeting is financed by the Irish Mathematical Society, University College Cork, Science Foundation Ireland and the European Mathematical Society. In particular, Stanley Burris will open proceedings with the EMS/IMS Boole lecture at 11:00 on 27 August. Stanley's talk is available here, and you are encouraged to read the slides before hand so that you can think up fiendish questions.

The talks will take place in room 107 of the Western Gateway Building, with the exception of Alice Niemeyer's talk which will take place in G01. The latest draft of the programme with titles and abstracts is here.

As usual, there is no registration charge for IMS members. Registration for non-IMS members will be €20. Please register here by 14 August so that we have an accurate idea of numbers for catering purposes (and ignore the deadline on that page).

The website code CCB361 can be used to obtain preferential rates in the following hotels: The Kingsley, The Imperial, The Clarion, Hayfield Manor and The Metropole. Alternatively the many B&B establishments on Western Road and surrounds would be suitable.